Mr Hannnnaayyyyyyy …’39 Steps’

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Everybody loves Fridays, its totally natural to love them. It marks the end of a long working week at work and says hello to the gorgeous weekend. I know for a fact Fridays are fun days. In fact, from now on Fridays are Fundays, I’ve officially announced it.

5 o’clock came by super quick and before I could pinch myself, I was out of the office and en route Covent Garden, one of my ‘fave’ places in lovely London. Full of character, eager tourists and romantic twosomes.

image

image

Along with my fellow companion (cousin to be precise), we ventured towards the heat of a Brazilian restaurant, Cabana. With the rain showing its power over London, our choice to pre-theatre dine with barbecue was a brilliant decision. I opted for Pão de queijo (cheesy baked dough balls) to start, served with garlic butter, followed by my mian, succulent spicy malagueta chicken skewer cooked over the open fire right in front of us with chips. In a rodizio style, our funny and quite entertaining passador served our skewers at our table. To wash it all down I got a Brazilian Daiquiri, an icier twist on traditionally served beverage. To finish we shared a piece of chocolate, why? Because, why not?! The food was delicious, the waiters and waitresses were fab and the interior was Brazilliant.

image

image

image

We decided to go for more cheeky cocktails before the performance at 8pm, so we left the Brazillian scene and entered the equally delicious Mexican restaurant Chiquito’s where we ordered a traditional Strawberry Daiquiri and a Woo Woo. We had to drink pretty fast because we were distracted by some street dancers on the way, so at 19:45 we ran through Piccadilly Circus and into the small but beautiful Victorian Grade II* listed Criterion Theatre.

I have to admit, I have not read the novel by John Buchan nor watched the 1935 British thriller film directed by Alfred Hitchcock. But, I have to say 39 Steps, what a brilliant story line. The performance started at 8pm promptly and it was immediately evident the theatrical stage recreation was going to have me laughing all night. 100 minutes of witty, fast paces hilarious humour. The cast of 4 did wonders at switching between their 139 characters and even the obviously staged mi-sups were both ingenious and funny. I recommend this to any humour hungry human out there, but quick, before it closes in September.

Leave a Reply

