A Mexican mouthful

How many times have you walked past someone handing out leaflets, without thinking twice. I might change your mind.

Last week a lady in a blue jacket outside London Liverpool Street handed me a little blue leaflet. To my surprise it was all about a soft launch for Wahaca, a Mexican restaurant franchise opening on Widegate Street on the 9th of July. I have never been before and I absolutely love Mexican-it’s definitely a cuisine up in my top three. So I went online with my fingers crossed in the hope of bagging a free meal. To my delight I was quickly emailed and I was able to make a reservation for dinner, for me and my other half.
image

Free food, yes! Free food! The best things in life are free I always say. Plus, who can say no to free Mexican.

We were greeted and seated at 6pm by out lively, friendly and very menu helpful waiter Chris.
image

First of all I have to stress how hard it was to pick what to eat, the menu was amazing and the options were making my mouth water. We were told we could order anything off the menu including a soft drink and the restaurant would pick up the bill.

My favourite dish of the night (quite hard to pick a favourite to be honest, it was all delicious) was the Grilled British Steak Tacos, from the street food section. Flash grilled steak pieces with delicious Chipotle sauce and tomatillo guac. We also got Tender marinated chicken taquitos, which are corn tortilla crispy rolled cigars, filled with poached succulent chicken, seasoned with lime, black pepper, Lancashire cheese and smoky chipotle salsa. The last of out Street food plates was the best seller, chorizo and squash quesadillas. Large toasted tortillas filled with British chorizo, butternut squash and melting mozzarella. If that wasn’t enough we got a chicken tinga burrito from the bugger food menu and sweet potato sides.
image

image

image
image

image

I also tried out the very tasty and fishing agua fresca ‘citrus fizz’.
image

Delicious is by far an understatement. The restaurant was beautifully decorated, the staff were smiley and very helpful, the atmosphere was great and the food was a mighty yummy Mexican mouthful.
image

image

Not forgetting the lovely little paper bag of goodies. The Wahaca Guerrilla chilli growing kit, a bottle of fiery arbol chilli sauce and two vouchers to return for a free lunch.
image

image

Would I recommend this place to a hungry hippo? Of course, this place is great and I will no doubt be returning in the very near future to have another Street food experience. You can even turn their paper bags into a burrito bib…. Uuhh awesome! Go check them out!

S H E N & T H E ° C I T Y

One thought on “A Mexican mouthful

Leave a Reply

