London gets hotter than hot

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Okay let me start off by saying what a beautiful day of sunshine. Yesterday the 1st of July, the sun was beaming down on the city like a love struck school boy. With temperatures hitting 34 degrees, it was the hottest day of the year, in fact the hottest day ever recorded for the month of July, with some parts of the UK hitting  36.7C (98F).
image

To start off my lunch I had home made Turkish Köfte with yoghurt. Köfte are a traditional Turkish style meat ball and quite frankly they’re delicious.

After being glued to my desk since arriving in the morning I couldn’t wait to get outside and absorb the sun and be apart of the sensational summer.
image

I took a slow stroll past The Tower of London, Tower Bridge and St Katharines Dock and found myself in Wapping. I spotted groups of people Lunching along the steps of Ornamental Canal and Hermitage Riverside Memorial Garden. Yet again it is a part of London I have never seen before and what a lovely spot to enjoy the sun.
image

image

image

image

image

image
image

image

image

For ages now I’ve wanted to try out the all famous “Boris Bikes” or Santander Bikes. After seeing well over 10 cyclists brush past me I knew today was the perfect day to give them a go. With only 10mins left of lunch I was determined to make the absolute most out of the sun. At £2 for the whole day it’s a great way to get around London. As long as you Dock the bikes every half an hour that’s the only fee you’ll pay. I must admit I was extremely shattered after arriving at my office but it was well worth it.
image

The afternoon passed slowly but surely and I opted to ride to Bethnal Green and jump on the train there instead of my usual start point, London Liverpool Street. Oblivious to the fact the trains were cancelled, no doubt due to the weather affecting the tracks, I ended up on the very sweaty, very uncomfortably warm tube, not exactly what I had planned.

The smelly tube aside, once I got home I took a nice evening walk down the River Lee, around Walthamstow and Hackney Marshes with my family. We fed a huge gaggle of geese, took in the last bit of sun rays for the day and went home. A brill end to a brill day I’d say.
image

image

S H E N & T H E ° C I T Y

One thought on “London gets hotter than hot

Leave a Reply

