A wonderful week of vintage, wild west and postcards

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

This week has been a mix of vintage hunting and sunshine absorbing. I’ve been super super busy this week (a good busy, not the busy where I’m praying for free time) and I have so much still left to do.
image

If you are a frequent reader of my blog or microblogs, you’ll already know how much I absolutely love Covent Garden.

Mondays lunch brought me back to the beautiful romantic and very sunny East side of the West end. Every Monday a vintage market is held there. I’ve made it quite a habit to return and rummage through boxes of old photographs and buttons, flick through Victorian books and get chatting with the friendly faces, who I’ve started to become quite familiar with.
image

I also adore Walt Disney, no matter how many years pass and how many numbers get added to my age, I will always be a true fan of Disneys creations. After a good hard look through a pile of postcards I found two beauties, a French Pinnochio postcard and a Original Snow White postcard, both unwritten and holding so much history in their paper. Sorry pen buddy’s, these are for me only.
image

I have recently started a mini mission to collect a postcard from every country in the world. I sort of stumbled across the hobby while hunting for a friendly foreign friend overseas. It is really lovely getting home from work to find lovely postcards and envelopes stamped with stamps from cities, towns and places outside of London. Why do I snail mail when the Internet gets messages from UK to Australia in a milli second? You learn so much about a person from how they write and everything a person hand writes has so much more meaning and honesty behind it. It’s a way of building a friendship with not only a new person but a new culture, a new way of life. It’s quite incredible and I’m glad I’m back into it.
image

Tuesday passed so quickly and before I could blink it was the evening. Me and my other half went to a pre-release screening of the new Wild West film ‘Slow West’, a story about a young boys love for a girl who he’d been separated from. As the film slowly unfolded it was clear to see it was not only about love, but about friendship, the director did wonders at squeezing in a few lol moments every now and then throughout. An evening well spent.

Wednesday the sun was out, woo, finally. Summer is officially here in London and I’m loving it. 2mins away from where I work is the oldest Church in the city, The Ancient Church of All Hallows by the Tower, built in 675AD. The building holds remains from Roman, Medieval and Saxon history and artefacts. I’ve blindly walked past the church many times before focusing on The Tower of London, it’s well know and popular neighbour. To my surprise the church holds more than what’s to see outside. Below the grounds is the Crypt museum, where remains of a 2nd century Roman pavement is preserved, an altar from the crusades and medieval brasses. It’s one of those places that isn’t spoken about, a little free treasure right near the Tower, well worth a visit.
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

After a peaceful and history filled visit at the All Hallows and Crypt museum, I finished my lunch in the sun whilst colouring in a page of my ‘adult colouring book’. A really great way to switch off a little bit and loosen up, art therapy, id recommend it to any creative mind. With the sun beaming down and a baf full of pencils, my lunch finished delightfully.
image

image

image

image

image

Terrific Thursday finally arrived, I always get the feeling that Thursday is equally as good as the Friday feeling. I quickly found myself amongst more antiques, at the Thursday Spitalfields Vintage market, and what a good decision that was. It has to be by far one of the best vintage markets I’ve been to! Rows and rows of stallholders, with a variety of valuable antiques and rare vintage pieces. Brass letters, old leather bags, books galore, it truly was a brilliant sight for the eyes. I could’ve easily have spent well over an hour in there. I picked up a bunch of mint stamps, 1979 London Stamps, vintage sailors stamps and 1981 Prince and Princess Diana stamps. A little treat for my postcrossing pals and a splendid lunch.
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

That finally brings me to Friday. Today the weather was gorgeous, thank you Mr weather man, you did good. After getting to work slightly late (whoops) lunch came round so fast, Friday lunches are always the best. It’s as if I can’t get enough of Spitalfields, which is probably true because I ended up there today. There is a Gelato festival being held under Spitalfields roof until Sunday. Icecream lovers can purchase a card which gives you 5 scoops of gelato and if you vote for your favourite, you’re given an extra free scoop. Unfortunately, the queue for the cards was insanely long and for Mrs lunch in an hour it wasn’t going to cut it today, tomorrow perhaps. The fresh gelato is far too yummy to resist and you can purchase your cards prior your visit, online.
image

image

image

A quick stop at Chillangos (the best Mexican lunch stop around), 2 tacos and a fresh lemonade later and it was back to the office I went.

A wonderful week of awesomeness I’d say.
image

image

I’m off to write some letters. Happy weekend!

S H E N & T H E ° C I T Y

Leave a Reply

