A museum all about London…

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

The weather was not great at all today, but that never stops a city adventurer from doing what she does best.
image

The iconic architecture of the city still shone despite the rain and grey skies. St Pauls Cathedral is so totally photogenic.
image
image

image

image

For today’s mini lunch travel I went to the museum of London. I have lived in the great city all my life and this is the first time I actually stepped foot there. What a brilliant little museum it is! Full of surprises.
image

The museum takes you through a journey in time in London, with the Victorian section being the winner for me. Full of Victoria facades, shops, Street lights and even a mini Victorian pub and toy shop, you find yourself strolling through history.
image

image

image

image

image

image

I used to work in Vauxhall and the pleasure gardens was somewhere I’d eat during the hotter seasons with my Tesco meal deal. Today I learnt where the name came from. As the city was being built up, the people sought out green space, to escape and enjoy a stroll. For a small fee Londonders were granted access to these fountain filled, tree lined enclosed flowered gardens. With many different classes finding themselves brushing shoulders. With an orchestra playing at the grand stands and evenings ending with fireworks the idea of these pleasure gardens became more and more in demand, spreading across Europe and American cities. Many being named “Vauxhall” after the famous Park I used to eat about, oblivious of its impact on our gardens.
image

image

After spotting the Mayors Carriage, The Pearly Kings suit and a random documentary being filmed I headed back to the office.
image

image

image

The London Museum, definitely one to add to your list of places to visit in the city.
image

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

S H E N & T H E ° C I T Y

One thought on “A museum all about London…

  1. Haven’t been to this museum, but it looks interesting. Can you imagine having to put on all that nonsense and an ornate gown just to strut through the park?! I’m quite girly and wear dresses often, but still so happy I don’t have to do that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

