The sound of music in the city- Great fire and Blitz survivor

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Today I decided not to venture too far out, staying very close to my office.

The city is like a box of chocolates, there’s treats everywhere. Every corner has a surprise.

After walking for no longer than 2mins from the office, I sat through a very beautiful pianist performance at St-Mary-at-Hill church of England. I only recently found out that churches scattered around the city hold free public mini concerts, with performances from violist, cellists and violinists. With voluntary donations taken in envelopes. Starting at 13:30 and lasting under an hour, it’s a very relaxed option on how to spend lunch.
image

Something I learned about the local Anglican Parish church is how many fights it has been through. With most of the original building being destroyed during the Great Fire of London in 1666, two further fires and the Blitz, most of the beautiful interior remains of Wrens vision.
image

image

image
image

After a peaceful and soothing earful of the piano I walked to the road behind to the remains of another church, St-Dunstan-at-East. After most of the church being destroyed in WWII, the remains are now a public garden. Making a perfect mystical spot to eat my lunch. With the sun shinning, flowers blossoming against the scenic remains it was hard to believe it was situated in the middle of the great hustle and bustle of the city.
image

image

image

image

image

image

Another great hour spent in London. That’s me signing out, I hope you enjoy the photographic evidence.

Love Shen&TheCity x’o

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “The sound of music in the city- Great fire and Blitz survivor

Leave a Reply

